Indiana Jones 4

So we saw Indiana Jones today, and I had avoided reading any press or reviews to try and stay unspoiled for it.

I was aware, though, that most of the reviews weren’t great.

So if you’re reading this without having seen the movie, I won’t spoil anything either, but I would say that I thought the movie was exactly what it ought to be, and I wasn’t disappointed in it at all.

I think this may be one of those films whose reputation improves after a few years have passed.  I mean, it’s not a masterpiece, but it certainly wasn’t a bad way to spend a couple hours.  And this late-era Spielberg has a habit of putting more into his work than initially meets the eye.  Maybe this will be a grower.  At any rate, I like it pretty well right now.

4 Responses to “Indiana Jones 4”

  1. I saw it on Sunday afternoon with my brother-in-law and nephew. Lots of great Indy stuff. Loved the story and the performances…hated all the CGI. Think of all the cool stuff they did in the first three with practical effects and amazing live stunts…a lot of this could’ve been done that way and wasn’t.
    Way more good stuff than bad stuff in this movie.

  2. Yeah, I’m tired of all the CGI. But I haven’t seen the film. Yet.

  3. I read the New Yorker review today, which was pretty critical: http://www.newyorker.com/arts/critics/cinema/2008/06/02/080602crci_cinema_denby

    It was probably a hack to make another of these films. I’m happier with my memories of Raiders of the Lost Ark than a vain attempt to recapture the magic.

  4. choppernewt Says:

    Yeah, people who try to dredge up 20 year old garbage for nostalgia’s sake suck!

    Oh… wait…

    Shit!

Leave a Reply

