R.I.P. Richard Wright (keyboardist of Pink Floyd)

Richard Wright, a founding member of the rock group Pink Floyd, died Monday after a battle with cancer. He was 65.

Wright met Pink Floyd members Roger Waters and Nick Mason in college and joined their early band, Sigma 6. Along with the late Syd Barrett, the four formed Pink Floyd in 1965. The group’s jazz-infused rock and drug-laced multimedia “happenings” made them darlings of the London psychedelic scene, and their 1967 album, “The Piper at the Gates of Dawn,” was a hit.

In the early days of Pink Floyd, Wright, along with Barrett, was seen as the group’s dominant musical force. The London-born musician and son of a biochemist wrote songs and played the keyboard. “Rick’s keyboards were an integral park of the Pink Floyd sound,” said Joe Boyd, a prominent record producer who worked with Pink Floyd early in its career.

The band released a series of commercially and critically successful albums including 1973’s “Dark Side of the Moon,” which has sold more than 40 million copies. Wright wrote “The Great Gig in the Sky” and “Us and Them” for that album, and later worked on the group’s epic compositions such as “Atom Heart Mother,” “Echoes” and “Shine on You Crazy Diamond.”, but tensions grew among Waters, Wright and fellow band member David Gilmour. The tensions came to a head during the making of “The Wall” when Waters insisted Wright be fired. As a result, Wright was relegated to the status of session musician on the tour of “The Wall,” and did not perform on Pink Floyd’s 1983 album, “The Final Cut.”

Waters left Pink Floyd in 1985 and Wright began recording with Mason and Gilmour again, releasing the albums “The Division Bell” and “A Momentary Lapse of Reason” as Pink Floyd. Wright also released the solo albums “Wet Dream” (1978) and “Broken China” (1996).

In July 2005, Wright, Waters, Mason and Gilmour reunited to perform at the “Live 8” charity concert in London — the first time in 25 years they had been onstage together.

– Excerpts courtesy of The Associated Press, Copyright 2008. All rights reserved.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Believe it or not, I was never a big Pink Floyd fan. None of my older brothers really listened to them much and really only started being exposed to them in college. While they never became one of my favorites, I do appreciate their body of work and love Syd Barret. So to all of you Floyd fans accept my condolences over this sad announcement.
– Sir Pent

11 Responses to “R.I.P. Richard Wright (keyboardist of Pink Floyd)”

  1. And listen to Syd Barret solo albums right away…

  2. choppernewt Says:

    Jeez. This week is starting out quite poorly. Pour some liquor out for Rick.

  3. Damn, this is shaping up to be a really crappy week.

    I just spent an hour thinking about music for Mr.P and GD and could get nothing to work. I have a basic rhythm for Mr.P, but finding it very boring thus far. The nub of an idea for GD but it wouldn’t come together, possibly because I’m not a good enough guitarist to do convincing funk.

    I’ll have to stop for a while and see if others get inspiration.

    Also I need to know if I should upload new flacs of Channeling Lou to the uploader.

    Now back to work.

  4. I would say yes to uploading the flacs…or else Chops has nothing to record with…

    As far as the other 2 songs…don’t try and force it. And as far as GD, GD is concerned…don’t worry about trying to make it funky. Just write what you think feels right. Chops and I can funk it up.

  5. That’s the funniest thing I’ve heard all night: Chops and you can funk it up. Hoo hoo!

    I suppose there is no hurry about CL, since Chopper is taking a hiatus. I have to render out the wavs again, compress, and upload. Takes too long. Chopper can work on JAG if he feels the urge to work on something. I think CL should probably just end up as a song we are perpetually about to release, but which never gets released. A myth of a song.

  6. I’m the funkiest cat of ALL the LFA. Evuh! Betta recognize!

    I can work on drums for JAG this weekend.

    I’m kinda into the CY thing now. My drum part is done. I just listened to it again to make sure and I think it’s kinda cool. I love the acoustic into the rocking. I think some bass and a little electric guitar in there to soup it up a little bit and we’re onto something.

  7. Well, I’ll upload the flacs this eve if there’s a chance.

    I did think of an idea for Mr.P, but I’m not sure I like that song. Also, after this we must get gritty again and leave the pop behind as it’s starting to make me feel icky. I’m going to work on Gator’s new lyrics next and put some seriously ugly guitar in there, unless Chops has an idea for that one first.

  8. You already have an ugly drummer.

  9. I think you uploaded the wrong flac for CL_codaguitar3.flac.

    Also, I think I am going to remix my drums and reupload. After listening to them with the individual files, there are a few things I want to bump in the mix and a few I’d like to lower.

  10. Fixed, I think. Don’t know how that happened.

  11. Well, you’re not as perfect as I.

Leave a Reply

